Four Garner Recognition from 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program and College Board


Congratulations to our three Park seniors, Anthony Dender, Jacob Hirschhorn, and Maya Newman-Toker who earned semifinalist distinction in the College Board National Merit Scholarship competition. The National Merit Scholarship Program began in 1955 as an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Each year, approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and approximately 16,000 are named semifinalists. 

Congratulations are also in order for senior Jordyn Harris, who was selected as a recipient of the National Recognition Program. Created by the College Board, the program was put in place to “create pathways to college for students from underrepresented communities by awarding them academic honors and connecting them with universities across the country,” and is open to students who identify as African American, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, or attend school in a rural area or small town. 

Read more about the National Merit Scholarship here.

Read more about the National Recognition Program here. 

Back to The Latest


Related Posts

2022-23 Postscript Receives Gold Medalist Critique from Columbia Scholastic Press Association

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association awarded the 2022-23 Postscript, our student newspaper, a Gold Medalist Critique — our 12th in the last 20 years. The judge commented that the newspaper...

Park Competes in AVAM’s 2024 Kinetic Sculpture Race

On Saturday, Park competed in the American Visionary Art Museum’s annual Kinetic Sculpture race through downtown Baltimore. Though the team faced many challenges throughout the race and the rain, attitudes...

Park Welcomes Sophie Neiman ’13 as 2024 Weinberg Resident Journalist

This month, Sophie Neiman ’13 returned to Park as our 2024 Robert L. Weinberg Resident Journalist. Sophie is a freelance journalist based in Uganda, where she reports for leading outlets...