Eleven Garner Recognition from 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program and College Board

Eleven members of the Park School Class of 2020 were recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) and the College Board for their academic achievement. Ben Sims ’21 is a semifinalist for the National Merit Scholarship. Ten students at Park were recognized as Commended Students for their performance. Talia Kolodkin ’21 was named a Scholar in the National Hispanic Recognition Program. 

NMSC and College Board recognize outstanding student achievement on the PSAT/NMSQT each year. National Merit Semifinalists, including Ben, can earn one of the 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, which total more than $31 million, next spring. Talia, recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program, earned the highest award given by the program. 

Congratulations to all! 

The National Merit Scholarship program is open to all high school students who complete the PSAT/NMSQT by the close of their junior year. Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT®Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit®Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist. 

The National Hispanic Recognition Program recognizes approximately 5,000 Hispanic/Latino juniors each year from among the more than 400,000 juniors who take the PSAT. As with the National Merit Scholarship Program, NHRP uses the junior year PSAT/NMSQT as the qualifying test.


Back to The Latest


Related Posts

Faculty and Staff Experience Civil Rights Trip

At the end of June, 27 faculty and staff from three Baltimore-area partner schools embarked on the Civil Rights Trip — an experience normally reserved for students and a handful...

Last Week of School’s Out Sports Camp

The second and final week of School’s Out Sports Camp was such a blast — thank you to all of the campers and counselors who took the fun to new...

First Week of School’s Out Sports Camp!

The first week of School’s Out Sports Camp was a huge success! From the courts and fields, to the pool and challenge course, campers had a great week of competition...